Jack

6/27/2012

0 Comments

 
Picture
This is Jack.  He is my nephew and I love him dearly.  We have started to bond over long walks through the woods and perfectly timed dog treats.  He's a sweetheart - he runs up to every creature we meet, trying to befriend them at once... unless of course he is on a leash and then something in his mind shifts toward crazy, and every other dog becomes a serious threat.  

Jack, my mom, and I have explored Deep Cove and Cypress Falls (both incredibly beautiful hiking areas, if you are looking for a trek in the woods) and now I have decided we are going to hike the Baden-Powell trail end to end. Ideally in one day...but I have a slight fear that this might be a bit unreasonable for me.   It is 41km and the internet claims it takes 10hours.  Given my tendency to think I can do more than I actually can, and ending up injured for my stupidity - I should do it over two days.  Should is the key word.  I also really like a challenge, so I might just give it a go.  I am one of those people who has to carry all the groceries in from the car in one go.... 

Jack and I also did a trail run today - back in Deep Cove.  Jack and I have tried running on leash and it doesn't go very well... somehow a run turns into full freedom to attack the leash and play tug of war... so I figured an off leash area was necessary.  Turns out it is still rather difficult to run off leash.  Jack likes to stay close to me, sometimes right underneath my feet... not a good place to be.  When he does get ahead of me, he slows to a walk causing me to run into him.  We crashed into each other at least 20 times, no joke.  We must have looked ridiculous! 




Leave a Reply.